Am I Crazy? How do you Write?

New Month!  Camp NaNoWriMo has begun. New Story, write and leave nothing unfinished.

I wanted to write this because I’ve always wondered if I’m just going nuts when I write or if it happens to others when they write as well. When I am in the process of writing a scene or conversation between characters I always have to “act out” the scene I’m writing before I can continue. I feel that when you hear your words out loud, you can hear if the dialogue is sounding too much like you or if it’s being too forced. I mean I fully act out every character I’m writing in order to picture the scene. I always think I’m a little crazy for doing this. Do you have some quirk when you write?

One of my first unfinished stories was about a murder. Instead of finishing the story I decided it would be fun to rewrite it over and over. I haven’t touched it in over a year. This was the first time I realized I needed to act out scenes because when you write that climatic scene the charm is in the detail, right? I remember I had to place pillows in the middle of my room (the body) and as if I knew what I was doing I placed an “X” where one character found the other being framed. I also realized it helped me with dialogue, but then again…no one has actually read anything I’ve ever written. I could have the worst forced dialogue and not even know it.

In honor of Camp NaNoWriMo…here’s an excerpt of version 350 of the scene described above. I’ve rewritten this story countless times and the plot is never good enough. I like to thicken plots so I don’t even know how to fix them.

“Downstairs they had cleaned the situation, and Valdez went towards Ryan and put his fingerprints over the knife. They don’t let Emily see what’s been staged. They drive her a few blocks away and make her call the police to report a murder in Scott’s house. She’s scared but she does it, unknowingly Dan was already on his way, he had tried to call Scott to say he was going to be late- but no one had answered his calls.

He walks into Ryan covered in blood waking up, Scotts body on the floor and the knife in the scene. Ryan is confused of what happened and Dan reacts badly to this scene.

“What have you done?” Dan is feeling disgusted but goes in his normal react first mode.

Ryan is confused and looks around to realize what had happened, he “has to play along” and this is exactly what Valdez meant. “

 

One thought on “Am I Crazy? How do you Write?

Leave a Reply

