It Must Suck to be an Extra in a Zombie Movie…

I went to see World War Z last night and well, in my opinion it was ok. I saw it in 3D and that made the movie experience better (I may have jumped out of my seat a couple of times). I’m not a major zombie fan. It’s the last type of movie I’ll go see, but when I saw the trailer I thought it looked cool. It was an interesting movie, someone I went with said that its nothing like the book except for some parts.

The movie is Brad Pitt’s first major role movie in a long time. I think the last big movie he did was Moneyball in 2011. I’m not counting the indie movie last year Killing them Softly or him lending his voice of a character in Happy Feet 2. World War Z definitely counts on him being the main attraction. I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing, but I’m positive that the magic formula the movie studio thought was: big name star + things that look like zombies= box office success!

Now to the “Things that look like zombies,” I was confused when I saw the trailer because you couldn’t tell if they wanted to make zombies or something else (I’m being vague on purpose, its hard). It was an interesting movie, the effects were good and the storyline probably could have done a little more character development. I didn’t feel bad for any of the characters, I didn’t really care about them. The zombie-like people were the main deal. Maybe this movie wasn’t up to my personal taste… you know you’ve lost a bit of interest midway the movie if you start thinking of production details. I kept thinking about all the extras in this movie, it must suck to be in a movie like this for them. Extras usually just have to fill space, maybe say a line or two and done. In a movie like this, they have to make weird noises, have tons of make-up and pretend they’re double jointed while they move in weird ways. Kudos to all the extras in World War Z!

World War Z had a decent debut in the box office, but this weekend number 1 went to Monsters U. Side note, World War Z- the sequel? (I just read the rumor, click here). I’m not sure World War Z is going to be able to compete with the movies coming up in the next two weeks. Next week is still a toss up: Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy in The Heat and Channing Tatum in White House Down. Both of these targeted to different audiences, but so is Monsters U and it won box office. But then, for July 3rd we have Despicable Me 2 and The Lone Ranger…either of those will take 1 or 2 for that weekend.

2 thoughts on “It Must Suck to be an Extra in a Zombie Movie…

  1. Pingback: ANTARA SIFIR FIZIK, SIFIR MATEMATIK DAN SIFIR POLITIK. YANG MANA NAJIB PILIH?

  2. Pingback: 50 Indie Movies You Need to See Before You Die | Winter Film Awards

Leave a Reply

