YA Books: John Green

I know I’m 23 and shouldn’t be reading Young Adult books anymore, but I can’t help it. I’m just saying I’m no longer in the targeted audience. Sometimes these are the books that have the best simple stories and the best messages. I don’t feel anything life changing when I read fiction books that are more for my age. There was only depression after I read One Day or when I read Bringing Down the House all I wanted to do was learn to play blackjack and count cards. Some Young Adult books are just there to entertain, but most of them will have some type of underlying message. I took a Young Adult class during my senior year in college; it was wonderful I had to read The Hunger Games because it was my homework.

Back to the point: I wanted to point out one specific author I have read 3 of his books and probably will read more later on. I’ve written about YouTube multiple times and don’t plan on stopping. One of my first subscriptions was to the VlogBrothers (This was the first video I watched- click) and this is how I found John Green.

Looking For Alaska:

I found a copy of Looking for Alaska when the Borders near me was closing. * sniff * I read it in about a week and loved it, though the story did sound familiar. (Hello young John Green- video) If a book can make me laugh and cry and keep me thinking after I read it, of course it will become one of my favorites. It also won a literary award: Michael L. Printz Award.

An Abundance of Katherines:

This one took me a while to finish it. I’m not going to lie out of the 3 books I’ve read from him this one was my least favorite. By least favorite I just mean I didn’t connect with it as much. It was a fun book to read and funny, John Green has such a talent to put geeky humor into his books.

The Fault in our Stars:

I bought this book because John Green signed each one of the first printing (and posted several videos about it) and even though I didn’t know much about the book at that point I just had to have it. I can’t express how much I loved this book or how much feeling is put into it. You will not only connect to the characters, but love them love them so much it hurts. After I finished it I kept thinking about it and thinking about what we can take away from the story. John managed to make me laugh, make me cry and make me laugh and cry at the same time (I didn’t even know that was possible). Also, it will potentially become a movie. We all know the “the movie won’t be the same as the book” cliché, but still it is something to be excited about because through it more people will be able to find out about the book.

He has also written three other books and I’m sure they are as good as the ones I’ve already read: Will Grayson Will Grayson (with David Levithan), Paper Towns and Let it Snow (with Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle).

One thought on “YA Books: John Green

  1. Pingback: Looking for Alaska by John Green | Shelf-Made Girl

Leave a Reply

