Lets Recycle…Music?

I have the weirdest music taste. I honestly will listen to anything. With that clarified: I wanted to have a small rant about popular artists (I thought the definition of ‘artist’ meant to ‘produce’ and ‘create’ something) using previous songs to make hits today.

Do you ever feel déjà vu when you listen to a “new” song?

The other day when I was at work I heard the new Christina Aguilera and Pitbull song Feel This Moment (I work in a department store in the mall) something in the song sounded familiar, I just couldn’t tell what it was. It kinda bothered me all day so later that night I went to the mighty Google to see if I could find it.  Boom. Answer was A-ha’s Take on Me.

I don’t know why it bothers me when I hear an artist re-use samples from older songs. Granted in this case it was Pitbull and I think it is part of his music to do ‘mixes.’  He also did it with Jennifer Lopez’ recent ‘hit’ On the Floor.  That interesting hook at the beginning of the song and used throughout it is from an old song called The Lambada.

Also, I’m going to clarify that yes when an artist does this he or she probably asked for the rights to the sample. The company probably got all the paperwork settled, but why are we listening to recycled music and not entirely new tunes? If you take the Lambada tune out of J.Lo’s song, the song sucks. You would quickly forget it.

Here are some other examples I can think of right now:

1)     Remember Lady Gaga’s Alejandro (2010)? I do too, but I also remember Ace of the Base’s Don’t Turn Around (1994).

2)     Long time ago Madonna had a hit with a song called Hung Up (2005). I remember it was number one on rankings for a long time. Abba’s Gimme, Gimme, Gimme (1979) was probably a hit during its time too.

3)     How about a double ‘who recycled whose’ song? Shakira had a catchy intro to her Hips Don’t Lie (2006). Lord Tariq and Peter Gunz had a similar intro to Déjà Vu (Uptown Baby) (1998). I didn’t know about that one but I heard the intro of Jerry Rivera’s Amores Como el Nuestro (1992).

I have to say techno, dub-step and artists that mix 100 songs in one don’t bother me because well, they say they are doing a remix and we know what to expect. (Example)

Side note: Why wasn’t the Black Eyed Peas- This Time (Dirty Bit) called “(I’ve had) The Time of My Life) cover”? They take excerpts from the original song…

I think my new hobby will be to grab DaVinci, Van Gogh and maybe Vermeer’s paintings (I think all of their works are public domain by now, not sure but I just want to make a point) and stick them all together. Maybe add some brushstrokes so I can say it’s my creation and I’ll probably have a ‘hit’ too, right?

10 thoughts on “Lets Recycle…Music?

  1. Ciao, appena firmato. Il mio nome è Trey. Mi piace l’elettronica e cerco di tenere il passo con le più recenti tecnologie. Ho il mio sito web e fare i video di YouTube per dare consigli / aiuto e per il divertimento su qualsiasi cosa tech che io so. Ci vediamo in giro.

  2. Credo che questo sia un punto interessante, mi ha fatto pensare un po ‘. Grazie per scatenando il mio cappello pensante. A volte mi sento così tanto in un solco che mi sento come un record.

Leave a Reply

