Mad World: News and Truth

I’m 23 and as such I probably should know more about what is going on in the world. I’ve always had problems following the news and being an informed individual. In an attempt to correct this I subscribed to The Economist, and yes the print version because I absolutely hate reading on my laptop or phone. I don’t know or understand how people do it. I’m not going to lie and say I never read on an electronic gadget, because I do but usually its something that is intended for entertainment and not something that really requires my full attention. Well, back to the point needless to say I fell behind reading the magazines because they arrive every week and I’m a slow reader. I’m still in march. It doesn’t matter how I intend to be informed I still fall behind.

There have been times where I tried to watch news, but then go into an incredible depression stage because let’s face it our world is pretty messed up. Then, you consider that factor of “paranoia” that always seems to be part of the news. Something always seems to be trying to kill us.

What also gives me a headache about the news is the usual never-ending conversation in my head:

“Is the reporter telling me the entire truth, the complete news?”

No, probably not.

“Company has censored something?”

Depending on the major event of the moment, probably.

“Can it be that whatever is not being told right now is part of some bigger news?”

Hmm…

“Am I watching a neutral news channel? Or are they trying to convince me of something unconsciously?”

I blame my high school teacher for this, he taught us by showing clips of The O’Reilly Factor, The Colbert Report and The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. I’ll always remember him telling us “Don’t just to listen the news, but question what the news is saying.” If I want to be what the world defines as an informed individual should I be listening/watching or reading news or am I just purposely being misinformed because I’ll never know the truth 100%?

Leave a Reply

