More Superheroes…

Last week I wrote about reading a comic book and how was my first time experience. Now part two: With popular superheroes come popular movies. Well, most of the time popular (Sorry Green Lantern). Like I said I’m a geek for superheroes and not just because they usually pick good-looking actors to play them. I love their fantastic world and the usual origin story plotline that comes with each movie.

 Warning: I live in the nice ignorance of not fully knowing the comic book story of each character, because I know that as soon as I do I’ll probably start hating the movies. Even with this knowledge I dove in the Winter Soldier story arc due to curiosity and Captain America 2 currently filming in Cleveland…

Also, we all know that these movies are part of a big franchise that just wants to make the money no matter what. It doesn’t matter if the story doesn’t follow the comic book, if we change the main actor in the next movie or instead of adding more character development we just add more explosions and awkward jokes.  Now, with this knowledge should we be careful of falling into their grasps of watching potentially crappy movies (or a tv show- more on that later) just because it has a beloved character?

Personally, I’m a sucker for this genre. So yes, but that doesn’t mean you won’t wonder all of this when you head to a theater or sit on your couch watching The Avengers for the 3rd time. Damn you franchise, why do you do this to me?

Marvel has a small plan to keep all the fans on the edge of their seat waiting for The Avengers 2. A movie per season, a small post credit scene at the end and if that isn’t enough…lets add a TV Show. I guess this is the definition of positive reinforcement.

Summer 2013: Iron man 3 (Go to the movies, but here’s the trailer anyway)

Fall 2013: Thor 2- The Dark World (Trailer)

TV Show** September 2013: Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D (Trailer)

Spring 2014: Captain America 2- The Winter Soldier *No trailer yet, but plenty of on-set pics have surfaced…*

Currently nothing set for Summer 2014. Captain America is to premiere in April so it could count as the summer movie, though I don’t think it may be strong enough to be a summer movie.

Fall 2014: Guardians of the Galaxy

Summer 2015: The Avengers 2 (Keep looking for post-credit scenes, at least that’s my plan)

I found that there is an Ant-Man in the works, but its potentially scheduled for Fall 2015. Set in the same world as The Avengers. (Official Preview)

Leave a Reply

